Page 1 of 2

magic help

PostPosted: Sat Sep 20, 2008 10:44 pm
by Heidi
we done something and havent got a clue what the main pc is setting itself to work ofline as soon as he unticks it it goes back to it
any idea helpppppppppppppppppppppppppppp

PostPosted: Sat Sep 20, 2008 10:55 pm
by Magic
Firstly, have you tried to enter an address into your browser? (Brings up a box asking if you want to stay offline)

Check your network connection (ethernet cable) is working.

Have you tried restarting the computer?

PostPosted: Sun Sep 21, 2008 7:58 am
by Heidi
oh yes we tryed all of that
we where trying to set up the laptop with pc as a network!!
so that I could send things to pc, i.e things for printing
the laptop works ok but like I said pc no longer goes online even
so the taskbar says he is online shows the hub and signal strenght
but everything comes up saying he is offline,lol
pc is now wireless too as we moved it last week
so we not shure how we mamaged to kill the system
but it shure looks like we did I just told him to reinstall the wireless to pc to see if that will sort the problem ??
it wont let us do a restore neither

PostPosted: Sun Sep 21, 2008 8:47 am
by Heidi
bigal has tryed with cabel in again
and still I E saying working offline
we keep unticking the darn thing
but withhin seconds its ticked again help
how on earth do we change it to stay online?????????
wish we never messed with it last night
anybody up yet??????

PostPosted: Sun Sep 21, 2008 9:12 am
by Magic
Comfirm there really is an internet connection: Open a command prompt (start->accessories->command prompt) and type "ping <a website>"
You should get (amongst others) 4 lines that look like
Code: Select all
Reply from xx.xx.xx.xx: bytes=32 time=25ms TTL=49


Open IE and go into Internet Options. On the Connections tab remove any connection you don't need (likely all of them) and click on "LAN Settings" and make sure everything is unselected.

Open Control Panel, open Network Connections. How many have you got, and what they called?

PostPosted: Sun Sep 21, 2008 9:21 am
by Heidi
morning magic
start->accessories->command prompt)
he cant even find that in accessories

PostPosted: Sun Sep 21, 2008 9:24 am
by Magic
:rofl:

Try insted: Start->Run, type "cmd" and OK :)

PostPosted: Sun Sep 21, 2008 9:27 am
by Heidi
why oh why dont blokes listen

PostPosted: Sun Sep 21, 2008 9:32 am
by Heidi
he is upstairs ,
me thinks the PC might leave via a real window soon

PostPosted: Sun Sep 21, 2008 9:41 am
by Magic
:lol:

If needs be I can nip up.

PostPosted: Sun Sep 21, 2008 9:44 am
by Heidi
he is out in car me hinks it was saver for the pc
might be an idea ta magic

PostPosted: Sun Sep 21, 2008 9:50 am
by Magic
c u in min :)

PostPosted: Sun Sep 21, 2008 9:51 am
by Heidi
thank you very much :friendlykiss:

PostPosted: Sun Sep 21, 2008 10:26 am
by Heidi
you are a STAR

PostPosted: Mon Sep 22, 2008 1:17 pm
by Magic
With regards to the 'project' Heidi you need to allow the relevent ports on both your firewalls. I belive windows firewall has a check box on its config page to allow file and print sharing but can't remember exact details off hand.